Edited by Shelly Taylor and Abraham Smith

HICK PO is an anthology of contemporary rural American poetry edited by Shelly Taylor and Abraham Smith.  This project will officially release in early 2015.

This anthology offers up forty poets, from the globally famed to the emerging, each of whom have been or are now fast-tied to the countryside.  Let us sing to you of this age-old tradition so well we know the woodline.

This book will feature not only poems but also aesthetic statements speaking towards our writers’ relationships with the liminal, the rural, the great American wilds.

Meet our hicks:  Mei-Mei Berssenbrugge, Greg Alan Brownderville, Ashley Capps, Lisa D. Chavez, Allison Hedge Coke, Gillian Conoley, Michael Earl Craig, Tim Earley, Forrest Gander, Merrill Gilfillan, Gabriel Gudding, Jim Harrison, Nathan Hauke, Carolyn Hembree, Matthew Henriksen, Juan Felipe Herrera, Bob Hicok, Joan Naviyuk Kane, Adrian Kien, Yusef Komunyakaa, Ada Limon, Maurice Manning, Kristi Maxwell, Aaron McCollough, Ander Monson, Collier Nogues, Linnea Ogden, Danielle Pafunda, D.A. Powell, Michael Sikkema, giovanni singleton, Juliana Sphar, TC Tolbert, Jen Tynes, Mara Vahratian, Connie Voisine, G.C. Waldrep, Dara Wier, Crystal Wilkinson, and Mark Wunderlich.

Follow us on social media:  hickpoetics.tumblr.com  and